Justice Marvin and Jane Baxter Appellate Law Center and Endowment for Moot Court

The Moot Court Department would like to express our utmost gratitude to Justice Marvin Baxter and Jane Baxter for establishing the Justice Marvin and Jane Baxter Endowment for Moot Court in 2015.

In 1988, Governor George Deukmejian appointed Justice Baxter as an Associate Justice of the Court of Appeal, Fifth Appellate District. Justice Baxter served as an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of California from 1991 until January 2015. Justice Baxter received the 1998 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award from Hastings, and he received this prestigious honor for the second time in 2015. He is a Director Emeritus of the law school.

Marvin and Jane Baxter met when they were students at California State University, Fresno, and they married the summer before Justice Baxter entered Hastings. Jane taught second grade in Burlingame before taking a leave of absence to raise their two children. She returned to teaching in Fresno in 1985 and retired in 1995. She has a lifetime credential in Elementary Education and earned the distinction of being a Master Teacher.

The Baxter Fund is an essential part of our Moot Court success and the Baxters are an important part of our Moot Court Family. We thank them for everything they have given to UC Law SF Moot Court.

Alumni Coaches

With deep thanks and gratitude, we are fortunate to have alumni willing to give back and mentor the next generation of Moot Court students. 

These individuals graciously donated their time and effort during the 2022-2023 school year to assist in the preparation of our award-winning competition teams:

Alexander Padua, Alyson Cabrera, Casey Trang, Cassie Shyrock, CJ Connolly, Daniel Duan, Demiana Khoury, Eisha Perry, Hunter Morrissey, Jackie Dailey, Julia Covello, Julia Pilkington, Kimberly Macey, Madison Boucher, Mark D’Argenio, Mariya Waheed, Maya Galicia-Canto, Michael Rhoads, Miranda Rowley, Mona Razani, Nicholas Hunt, Nikayla Johnson, Rachel Winer, Rebekah Young, Ronnie Shou, Sabrina Tran, Samantha Adhikari, Stephanie Kang, Stephanie Richardson, Thuy Nguyen, Laura Tovar, Vincent Lee, Yena Kim, Zach Young